Friendship Remotely

Some times, a person that you only know through Television in a way becomes a ‘friend’. I know y’all will think I’m crazy for saying that. However, this situation is a bit different because he, Dan Wheeler, has shared so much of himself and his family not just on QVC but on Facebook and other media outlets. Perhaps it’s because what he’s shared is of his wife, Beth, and their battle with her Cancer.

Beth has been fighting Endometrial cancer for 5 years. A hard fought battle and she and their family have done it with grace and love. Over the last months the Cancer came on with such force and 5 weeks ago Beth was hospitalized. They tried platelet transfusions which sadly did not work and Beth left this world on Friday, October 30th.

By all that I’ve seen of Beth, she was a wonderful wife, mother, grandmother, daughter, sister and friend. She will be missed by all who knew her personally and now by so many because of Dan’s blog sharing.

Hold everyone you love close and be sure to let them know how you feel about them. Cancer really does Suck!

You should know that this story of Beth is personal for me as I feel so lucky and blessed, I found my Uterine which can also be called Endometrial, so very early and survived again. I feel such sadness for Beth and her family, she had so much love and didn’t deserve to leave them so soon.

All I can say is this, Cancer is a battle, it is a fight and there are way to many types and too many people diagnosed. Those that are Survivors we Celebrate but we should also Remember and Celebrate the lives of those who have lost their battles with Cancer.

Is there a cure, I really dont know based on this is a disease from your cells and that is what we are made up from. Can the CSP-3 study that is tracking habits and lifestyles that the American Cancer Society is doing (thank you Dan Adler and others for being a part of this) find the answers, I don’t know.

If you listen to everything they say, then you will never eat anything again. Cancer shouldn’t be about fear and I hope you do not take that away from anything I ever say. The default cause of course is my least favorite word in every language, the O word that I will never type out. I was 8 and one of the healthiest kids around, no history in the family and bam there it was the first time. When they focused on the O word they totally missed the 2nd battle I’d have and still have, hence the hate of the O word.

We should live life to the fullest and laugh as much as we can. I think we should also eat what we like and what we can (allergies and diabetes aside) just do so as all things in moderation. You know yourself better than anyone else, you know when something is wrong. If you do find any changes going on with yourself, please get thee to a doctor, there are signs and many of them are quiet.

I started this about a remote friend, who I will never meet, Dan Wheeler from that home shopping station QVC.  His wife, Beth, has left an imprint on me and many others through what he has shared from his heart. Beth will be remembered by so many and Celebrated not just by her family and friends.  They have also shared Beth’s memorial celebration service, so touching and filled with love. From this service, I’ve added, “See You Again,” by Carrie Underwood.

I can only send remote hugs and love to the entire Wheeler Family, and know that Beth will always be with them and everyone she has touched.  R.I.P Elizabeth Ann (Johnson) Wheeler, I know that you are dancing with the angels. xoxo

The Wheeler Family  Elizabeth Ann (Johnson) Wheeler

Gynecologic Cancer Ribbons

Leave a Reply

